Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

When it comes to weighing the importance of national progress, each government have different points of view. While there exists an idea that growing the economy is the most decisive factor, others opine that other measures of progress are just as vital. Personally, I agree with the latter idea. On the one hand, people in favor of economic development argue that it is truly beneficial to the prosperity of a country. Indeed, there are three compelling reasons for this claim. Firstly, once the economy is thriven, there will be an increase in national output meaning the production of more goods and services that satisfy the need of households; therefore, the living standard is improved. Secondly, economic progress results in wider jobs opportunities and a great reduction of unemployment. Finally, governments with a healthy economy will get higher tax revenues and subsequent more money to invest in public services. For example, a wealthy country can mobilize enough financial sources for road construction, education and health. On the other hand, I am on the side of people who assume that other types of growth are as important as aforementioned ones. Indeed, the peace of a country, the institution, the equality, also human rights should be taken into consideration. For instance, public security shows the effort of the government in protecting the harmony so that its citizen can live and develop, reflecting the level of progress of a nation. Moreover, this prosperity also consists in how a country protects the environment, and whether the environmental sustainability is on its aim, especially when today’s global issue is pollution abatement. Alternatively, the happiness of the populace and technological infrastructure should be considered as criteria for development evaluation. In conclusion, economic growth obviously plays an important role in the wealth of a country, however, other kinds of progress are also crucial to determine how successful it is.