Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this era of industrialisation, some people believe that economic growth is the best solutions for destitution. However, others argue that industrial advancement has lots of negative impact on the biosphere. This essay will discuss both arguments and give a concluding opinion. On the one hand, industrial growth offers many job opportunities among civilians. Moreover, it can effectively contribute to decrease penury in society. This is because of the increasing number of factories demands a large number of workers. As a result, people are able to get skilled jobs without any educational background, such as carpenters, electricians, drivers, and technicians. Hence, these people can earn for living. The best illustration for this situation is the Amul brand in India, which started in Gujrat during 1999. They recruit more than 4500 workers who were living below the poverty line. By contrast, an opponent of this viewpoints out that, industrialisation has deteriorated the environment. Specifically, most factories, especially processing plants, release harmful gases in the air, which impact the environment. Eventually, air pollution created by these poisonous gases tends to develop certain health issues among people living around. For instance, according to some research, Delhi, India's capital city has the most contaminated air because of industrialisation. Additionally, it also contributes to climate change. To conclude, even though industrial growth has some negative impact on the environment, it can be controlled by adopting specific measures. I believe economic growth can greatly contribute to eradicating indigence from society, as it provides many job opportunities to the people.