Many filmmakers make movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch the movie first. Which one do you think is better? Why?

Watching movie or reading book? This is a controversial question between people who want to fill their free times. Some people inclined to watching movies, while there is a group of people that have a penchant for reading books, and each of these has many proofs for themselves. Regarding this, there are many film producer making movies based on books. In this case, although some people prefer to watch movies before reading books, I have a different point of view. As far as I am concerned, I prefer to read books completely at first. There are numerous reasons for this, two of which - that is - more details in the book, and not manipulated story, are the most outstanding ones. To begin with, the most striking reason why I prefer to read books before watching movies is the fact that books not limited to time and authors can relate the story with more details. Filmmakers have to relate their story in a limited time, two or maximum three hours, while time is not a limitation for authors, and they can write their story in a book with thousands of pages or even in 2 or 3 volume. Therefore filmmakers should neglect many details, while author by enjoying their innovative mind and imagination tools can tell more details about the story and bring their readers into the role of story’s characters. For example, I remember many years ago, when I read one of the J. K Rowling’s book, in the series of Harry Potter, a movie was produced based on this story. I watched that movie but I was so disappointed because the movie had little details and could not attract me. Another equally important point is that film procedures sometimes change the story based on their desire or some limitation. For instance, I remember a series that would be produced based on a historical story. Unfortunately, among the production, one of the performers who has a significant role in the movie decides to cut her contribution with the group. So procedure had to change the story of the movie until he could found new performers. In my opinion, these changes can ruin whatever author wants to tell in the story. On the other hand, all the characters of a book are available to authors, so he or she can relate the story whatever wants. All in all, with all this taken in to account, although some people are attracted by movies, since authors are more capable to write a story than filmmakers, I prefer to read the original story with the all details that author wants to tell instead of manipulated one.