Many elderly are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages

These days, some families now prefer the option of taking their aged-one such as grandfather and grandmother in the retirement home. Although this trend is beneficial because it gives adequate care to old ones, however, there is a drawback to be taken into account. On the one hand, several benefits can be derived taking the elderly to caregiver home. One such benefit is that it avails the aged one the adequate care they needed to live healthy since most homes have a plethora of specialist that caters for nutrition, heart disorder, to mention a few. This means that it will save them from being taken care of unprofessional domestic help when their children are not available because of their busy schedule. Also, staying in a nursing home will strengthen their social skills since there will be a privilege to network with older folks. In other word staying with like mind, people have been proven medically to increase life span. Hence, to stay healthy and live longer it advisable for the elderly to stay in a nursing home. On the other hand, one disadvantage of old ones to live in an old person's home is that it might lead to depression. Being isolated from the rest of the family members or an environment they are used to will make them feel lonely and rejected. This might result in psychological trauma if not properly look into. According to research carried out by The Dept. Of Environmental science in Nigeria, it was discovered 20% of ageing people that mentally derail is as a result of being apart from their family member. Therefore, taking care of the old at home is more effective rather than a nursing home. To conclude, While the elderly can benefit from the nursing home, it can also lead to depression of old folks if their children visit them in the retirement home. . . .