Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Include relevant examples from your own experience.

It is being argued by some that paying employees based on productivity is the ultimate means of inspiring hard work. I disagree this is the best way, owing to the fact that it creates unethical behaviour amongst other things. Salary review, reward and recognition scheme as well as career development in my opinion are better ways of motivating employees to work hard. To start with, employees will put in effort to achieve great productivity when they are aware of a career development plan in place to ensure a long term sustainability rather than instant gratification such as sales bonus. This creates a win-win situation, they will work hard to ensure the business suceeds knowing their development is dependent on it. In addition, having a periodic salary review based on set performance index will encourage people to work hard in anticipation of salary increment. Furthermore, another way to drive productivity is having a scheme that takes into cognizance employees welfare such as healthcare, transportation, insurance plan, annual leave and so on; thus creating a sense of belonging and stimulating diligence. For example, I have a health insurance scheme and I am assured I can access healthcare services as and when due. Another point to note is that hard work can be triggered by having a reward and recognition program that acknowledges good performance. For example, a 'wall of fame' for outstanding employees will encourage people as everybody loves to be celebrated. In conclusion, admittedly, having payment equivalent to productivity is one way of  influencing hard work, however, I disagree it is the best way because it is short termed and results in sharp practises. Hence, long term incentive plan such as annual salary review, reward and recognition and career development are better means of motivating and encourage hard work in a workplace.