Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Tourism is already a huge industry and this is expanding even more rapidly in developing countries. Many developing countries have taken extensive initiatives to expand their tourism and thus many of them have gained a considerable amount of popularity in this industry. I believe that the reasons for developing countries to embark this industry are many folds and this is quite a positive development for them. First and foremost popularity around the world is the reason many developing countries are expanding their tourism. They know quite well that popularity and exposure to the world are the main keys to expanding their presence in the world.   For instance, Malaysia is a well-known Asian country and the expansion of their tourism sector has established this popularity. Second, tourism industry brings a huge amount of foreign money that can be used for the development of the country. For instance, developing countries like Thailand, China and Spain are earning a huge amount of foreign money from their tourism industries. Third, tourism actually increases the business opportunities of a country and thus many countries are having a better trade relationship with developed countries only because the tourists of western world came to visit such countries first. Finally, tourism creates job opportunities for local people and gives the host country an excellent opportunity to develop their infrastructure. I firmly believe that despite some negative effects tourism industry offers a huge benefit to a country. Among the negative effects environmental pollutions, influences of foreign culture and threat of terrorism are often mentioned. However, in this era of globalisation countries cannot shut their doors for foreigners. This is the age of technology and we can fly to any place within few hours. So the tourism industry is rapidly enhancing and a country should take advantages of it. Earning foreign remittance, creating more jobs for local people, introducing unique tradition to the world, improving the transportation system, knowing cultural diversity are some of the quite astonishing advantages that development of tourism can offer. In short, the main reason developing countries are expanding their tourism industries is because they understand the huge potential and benefits this industry offers and without any doubt, this is quite a positive development.