Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

The expansion of tourism is seen by developing countries as a promising option towards boosting economic development. These countries have adopted a range of measures in order to expand their tourism and, thus, gain not only awareness among people from different parts of the world, but also bring a huge amount of foreign currency into the state. I strongly believe that the current rapid development of the tourism sector is quite a positive tendency followed by underdeveloped states. Among a vast number of reasons that may serve as a ground for the tourism-based economy, it is reasonable to highlight that tourism generates income by bringing foreign exchange into a country, and creates employment opportunities, contributing to the development of private sectors and individuals’ welfare. For instance, Maldives is known as the most tourism-dependent country in the world, and a huge amount of foreign currency is coming to the country through tourism. On the example of Maldives, it is also clearly seen that a vigorous development of tourism greatly contributes to the popularity of the country. A country may not possess such advantages as technology, wide industry production, but yet be exposed to the world due to the extreme popularity as a beautiful tourist destination. Expanding their presence in the world by attracting tourists, developing states increase business opportunities and create a positive ground for successful trade relationships with other countries. Finally, the development of tourism provides local citizens of a country not only with a number of job opportunities, but enhances cultural diversity and broadens people’s outlook. Although the rapid enhancement of tourism may have negative impacts such as environmental pollution or an increased crime rate, in my opinion, tourism positively impacts developing countries. Earning a huge amount of money, promoting a country around the world, broadening business and trade opportunities, supporting local private sectors are some of the quite splendid chances that tourism may create in developing countries.