Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be usefull in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Careeer choice is an important and crucial part of a person's life. Some people believe that one should choose a job which they are passionate about while there are few others who believe that choosing a career oriented course according to the job market is the safest option. I shall examine deep into both the views before I give my verdict. It is always better to pursue one's dream career. This is because it gives a sense of satisfaction and peace in life. For example, a research done by Cambridge University found that students who chose their employment based on their interest were leading a better quality of life compared to one's who was forced into a profession. This clearly proves that one's aspiration, interest and capabilities are important factors to consider while choosing a job. At the same time, it is also important to be well informed about the kind of job market in the world. Jobs related to science and technology generally have more scope as compared to arts or media. This could probably be because of the higher pay scale or larger employment opportunities in such fields at a global level. To illustrate this, a study done by International Labour Organization reveals that more people prefer joining work which provide better salary and benefits as compared to one's they are actually intersted in. This mismatch affects their life adversely and paves way for several mental illnesses. To conclude, I completely agree that one should choose a career depending on the person's interest and potential rather than looking at the job market and scope. At the same time it is wise to be well informed about the trends of work opportunities outside to plan accordingly