Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What is the cause? Possible solutions?

Prisons are not only facilities where criminals are incarcerated and deprived of their freedom, but the concept of imprisonment is also intended to rehabilitate the prisoners. However, many people re-offend once they are released. In this essay, I will discuss the main reason for this, namely the inability to find a job, and will also suggest solutions to this issue. Very few employees are willing to provide jobs for those with criminal records. This group of individuals has been shunned and discriminated against when it comes to employment. For example, the employer may fear that the convicted person will continue the malpractices and eventually cause loss to the company. Unfortunately, an unemployed ex-prisoner has a tough time making a living, and, in their desperation, they get into crime again. If employers were not so biased towards ex-convicts, our society would not have high reoffending rates. In my opinion, government intervention could possibly solve the problem of repeated offences. For instance, in the USA there is a growing trend toward hiring ex-offenders and felons, thanks to the program that was introduced by the American government. This program is aimed to lower the taxes for those companies that employ those who were recently released from prison. Moreover, ex-convicts are not able to get an education, since many schools and universities forbid that. I think, that more penal system should invest in educational programs. The great majority of incarcerated individuals do not have high school diplomas. Resources used for diploma and GED programs is money well spent in terms of lowering recidivism. Recent research has shown that the higher the degree, the lower the risk of returning to prison. In conclusion, many former prisoners repeatedly commit crimes, as they are unable to find any jobs, due to the prejudice among the majority of employers. However, these issues can be solved with the help of the government. The companies should be offered some tax cuts if they hire ex-convicts, as well as the prisoners, should be given the opportunity to receive an education. Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What is the cause? Possible solutions?