Many countries spend a lot of money in art. Some people think investment in art is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public services and facilities.

It is one of the fads that many countries nowadays pour more funds in art. Such a trend has led to two opposite views; some people opine that the money spent in art is necessary, while others dispute that the government funds should be invested on public services and facilities. In my view, the government should invest a reasonable proportion of the financial income in art, and thereby improving people' s mental wellbeing, but the improvement of public services and facilities shall never be overlooked. People who are in favour of investing funds in art might contend that art is an effective way to restore people' s energy. In the past several decades, more art museums and theatres have been built using the government funds. These places have offered the public more chances to relax themselves from the work. If people work continuously without attending some recreational activities, such as visiting art museums or watching operas, they may be less productive towards their work. In contrast, after relaxing themselves in the art world, many people can recover their energy to work more effectively. On the contrary, others argue that the government should spend money on public services and facilities instead of art. They may think that citizens can reap more benefits from public services and facilities. For example, with more money spent in progressing education and medical system, students can receive better education to improve employability and patients have more chances to survive from severe diseases. Also, businessmen can discover more business opportunities if more roads and communication facilities are constructed. From my point of view, the government does need to invest a fair amount of money in art. The artistic facilities like museums and cinemas attract more people to experience and enjoy artworks, and thereby bringing happiness to their lives. However, the major focus of the government is always to provide the public with more comprehensive public services and reliable facilities, as this is the fundamental obligation of a government.