Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more houses. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the country side.

An increasing trend in population is being witnessed all over the nations of the world which requires accommodation to be built. Some believe that new houses should be built inside the current cities. However, I argue that new towns should be developed in the nearby places. This is because of the space constraints in existing cities and an increase in pollution problem. Constructing new houses within the city will lead to less space and various other problems associated with it. This is because construction requires space and the cities which were already developed were planned and constructed in order to accommodate a fixed number of people. Therefore building more houses will mean using of open spaces which will then result in congestion in the city. For example, a recent study revealed that the city of Delhi has become even more congested than before due to construction of new houses inside the city and has left no space for other necessary purposes like hospitals, schools, parks etc. Secondly, the development of new houses in the same city will mean a significant growth in the population, hence the number of cars will increase which will lead to more pollution in the cities. To illustrate, in a recent research carried out by a local agency proved that how the increase in the number of cars due to the increase in the population of a particular area drastically increased the level of pollution by 40%. This results in making the city less liveable and prone to diseases. In Conclusion, I strongly believe with the idea of building new cities which will provide adequate open spaces and will be less polluted. Therefore, new towns should be developed near to the existing cities than developing the existing ones.