Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these homes be constructed in existing cities or new towns be built in the countryside?

With ever increasing population, especially in the developing nations, more and more homes need to be built to accommodate them. While some think that these needs to be made in the large metropolis, others believe that smaller towns need to be developed in the rural parts. This essay will explain why it is important to quarter them in the countryside. In fact, if more homes are added to the ever congested cities, it would further add to their traffic and pollution level woes. For example, it is a widely known fact that the most polluted places in the world are the regions with the highest concentration of inhabitants. Moreover, the cost involved in constructing these new homes will be drastically higher. With increasing numbers, not only will it reduce the standard of living of the public already present, but also makes it harder for new residents to move in. On the other hand, constructing homes in the countryside has a lot more advantages. Firstly, it involves lesser cost. For instance, the cost of the land property in rural areas will be much lesser compared to in the city centre. Secondly, it contributes to lessening the traffic and congestion in the cities. Finally, With more residents more job opportunities would be created for others to move in, which in turn contributes to the development of the rural parts and consequently in a multi-centric development approach of the economy. To conclude, in my view, I believe that because of the increasing population, towns need to be developed in the rural parts of the country rather than building new homes in the cities. It helps in de-congesting the cities as well as boosting the regional rural economy.