Many companies use advertisements to increase their sales. What are the main factors that make an advertisement effective? Is advertising a good or bad thing for the society?

It is beyond the shadow of a doubt that advertisement techniques are constantly used by companies, especially by the ones who possess great success. In a globalised market, it can be considered logical to spend money on advertising related purposes. However, this may be a matter of debate due to its impact on individuals and on societies in generals. Compared to rest of the history, last couple of decades have been an era that humanity had outdone its own potential. Developments on science and technology made it challenging for companies to compete with each other. This resulted in companies' growing needs of more effective advertising techniques. Now advertisements must not only be astounding and creative, but also convincing enough to make their target audience believe that they need this particular product. For instance, people need to be persuaded to purchase a new smartphone even though they already have a functioning one. On the other hand, I believe that advertising and consuming are not only about economy. They have inevitable effects on communities and people's behaviors. First and foremost, people who have been exposed to excessive stimulation, become more vulnerable to consuming. This situation may lead to a consuming society where people buy things without thinking of the results. Moreover, purchasing products that out of need can cause financial problems for consumers. Needless to say that focusing on consuming redundantly could end up with weakened communication between individuals. To conclude, since its first appearance, advertising has changed drastically. Today people see numerous advertisements on various platforms everyday. It is crucial for advertising to be up to date in order to draw people's attentions. However, directing persons to a infinite circle of consumption could have unwanted affects on the well-being of communities.