Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages.

Sponsoring is an integral way of advertising. Most companies advertise themselves by sponsoring different sports. It is accredit as good thing by some, whereas others think it has few cons. In my opinion, it is imperative to have sponsors for a team or an individual athlete in order to earn more money but this could become an hinderance to the player outcome and this essay will discuss the same. Sponsorship mutually benefits both the sports as well as the companies. On the one hand, level of sports increases with better opportunities for players, more availability of training kits and on the other hand, participating firms get the platform to create their brand value. For instance, Vivo, the title sponsor for Indian premier league is trying to improve its market reputation through it. Therefore, this way of advertisement is beneficial for both parties. On the contrary, some people believe that it brings disadvantages as there is much influence of these big companies on the game. For the sake of profit, they generally employee techniques which hampers the natural game of the athlete. For example, there is a section of the game wherein the commentators have a conversation with the players in indian premier league. Consequently, concentration of the player is lost and their performance falls. To conclude, sponsorship increases the flow of money for a game which benefits the player in terms of more better opportunities. Due to the big influence on the sports of these companies, they use different tricks to make game more interesting which may deviate the focus of the player.