Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages.

Some multinational companies sponsor major sports events in order to advertise their products. Some people have positive opinion about this, while others believe that there are certain downsides to this. In my opinion, when multinational company's promoter sporting events, it is advantageous for them and the sports. When big companies sponsor sports events, both the parties benefit. Sports events are promoted and people will be motivated to participate in various sports activities. In addition to this, talented youngsters may get inspired by the fame and money that accomplished players get and will want to pursue a career in sports. By showing their advertisements during these events, companies which sponsor they can reach more consumers. Thus organizations will get more profit. Many firms such as Airtel, Idea and Pepsi funded many sports competitions and this enhanced their publicity. On the other hand, there are also certain drawbacks to this. It may deflect the attention of people from sports to their products. In addition, when ads are shown during sporting events, they may dampen the spirit and enthusiasm of the spectators. Hence it may not arouse the real sports spirit in people. In conclusion, even though product adverts distract viewers of sports competitions to a small extent, sports events are promoted to a great extent during these competitions which are sponsored by big multinational firms. So it is good that sports events are sponsored by big organizations.