Many companies sell products or services but at the same time cause environmental damage. Someone said it can be stop by ask them to pay penalty, such as a higher tax when they cause the environmental damage. Others said there are better ways to stop them

Embracing with various and abandon products in today’s market, we human beings are truly beneficial from the industrial revolution. Manufactures and factories offer costumers high-quality goods at a relatively low price. However, some companies make progress in the cost of environmental damage, which is an absolutely stupid method to develop. According to my perspective, this kind of environment-damaging companies can make changes under some penalty in order to protect the environment. First and foremost, companies and entrepreneurs will do their best to avoid cost like the environmental penalty. As we all know, the profit is the first for any company. If they have to pay a lot of penalties because they damage the environment, they will transform to environmentally friendly or just stop the pollution projects as soon as possible. Many companies, which have transformed successfully, even start programs to protect the environment for the right to avoid high taxes. Companies are not charities but they are willing to do those things to expand their interests. Thus, adjusting taxes to protect the environment will definitely be effective and efficient. In addition, the government can make full use of the penalty from some companies to protect the environment. Tax is the major income for the government. By regulating the tax rate, the government will have more budget to protect the environment. In that case, the government will do more things, such as funding new research for renewable sources, building clean-energy factories, and eliminating pollutants. Thus, the government will help the companies to balance between economic development and environmental preservation. Furthermore, it is not a wise idea to stop these companies or factories. All the factories existing today lead people to a better life and provide customers more varied goods. Closing some companies is an intervention to the market which may cause the price of substitute goods raise. It will damage the interests of both companies’ owners and common people. Also, thousands of workers will lose jobs if the government force a company close when it damages the environment. Unemployment is never welcomed by the government and individuals ether. That is to say, although stopping companies that damage the environment badly can achieve its goal in a short time, numerous social problems will bring up, too. In conclusion, the best way to regulate companies and then protect the environment is to raise taxes in the situation that companies damage the nature severely. Companies will not bankrupt if they make the right decision, and may develop better afterwards.