As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is undeniable that as a country advances, the tendency of fulfilling tertiary needs such as vehicles is becoming a trend in the society. Presumably owning car benefits individuals in some ways, however, I believe that the detrimental effect to the environment caused by the outnumbered cars is far greater due to the pollution and traffic congestion. In point of fact, the increasing numbers of cars results in a serious environmental waste. Without a doubt, four-wheeled vehicles consume a huge amount of fuel and produce an even bigger amount of poisonous gasses which pollute the earth’s atmosphere leading to actual harm to the health of people. Besides, the noise coming from car honks and the sound of machines brings about various health and psychological detriments on people. Further, those two phenomena are noticeably exemplified in the way people choose to live far away from the city centre to avoid polluted air and disturbing sound. Alongside the impacts of air and noise pollution, the escalating use of cars emanates traffic congestion issuing lost economic efficiency and social harmony in the environment. Traffic jam which is caused mainly by car drivers lengthens trip times as well as slow down the vehicle speed. The long duration wastes more emissions, the vehicle maintenance cost, and also rises public transportation fare. Socially, the consequence of traffic congestion is stressful condition when the traffic becomes busier and more crowded, and the hostile behaviour may emerge when the drivers compete to advance their cars ahead of the others in the traffic stream. Automobiles may have made personal lives more convenient by facilitating people move freely or do not need to wait long for the mass transit, notwithstanding, we are faced with more severe adverse environmental issues caused by pollution and congestion the cars bring, and those are more bewildering than individual benefits.