Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? With the emergence and development of vaccines, many common childhood diseases can be now easily tackled. But the question of whether these vaccines should be mandatory for every child or can be chosen voluntarily by their parents remains very much controversial. I personally believe that in a modern world there is always a choice that an individual makes in every aspect of his life. The medicine which to undergo, in my opinion, should also be a matter of choice, not an obligation. First of all, the medication industry represents an enormous part of the world economy, and the global pharmaceutical market is valued at about 1. 25 trillion U. S. dollars, according to Statista. For me personally, this number means that medical researchers and organisations now more strive for gaining some profits rather than reducing the number of health problems among people. While immunisation against such fatal diseases as measles or tetanus could be effective, little information has been disclosed to the public about the content of vaccines and possible harmful effects they may cause. Due to the huge amount of money circulating in this industry, the disclosure of this information may result in massive public outrage which, in turn, may incite a widespread denial of immunisation against common childhood diseases. Secondly, it is also a known fact the human body is able to resist a disease that it faces, and, thus, produce its own natural immunity. When it comes to the common childhood diseases that a child can tackle without harmful medical intervention, why then the government should oblige parents to immunise children and put them at a potential risk of getting any other health problems? If vaccines harm an individual’s natural ability to resist common diseases, the government making immunisation mandatory for everyone, may create an extremely vulnerable society that is not physically able to overcome any common health disease. For these reasons, I strongly believe that immunisation programs against common childhood diseases should not be mandatory and it should always be left up to the parent how to treat his child’s health.