Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Immunization is considered as a preventive measure for various types of childhood illnesses. There are 2 arguments as to whether the authority should force the society to have their child vaccinated or the citizens would be given their rights for refusal. In my own view, the role of the government is to oblige the primary care givers of today’s young generation to cooperate in the implementation of vaccination rather than giving them an option to refuse. On the one hand, the health sector should impose strict compliance regarding the issue in vaccination due to the fact that the dreaded childhood illnesses are becoming more epidemic, whereas giving parents an option to refuse greatly affects the efficacy of the program. Moreover, for several decades now, common childhood diseases such as Polio, Hepatitis B, Tuberculosis, Varicella, Diphtheria, and Pertussis are only a few that have been managed globally through the administration of several shots from birth. However, the possibility of success in totally solving the issue is being altered by some significant number of morbidity and mortality cases. For example, the Department of Health consolidated its data during the measles outbreak in 2019 with an alarming result of 20% more hospital cases among all the regions, particularly in the rural areas where parents can effortlessly refuse to vaccines. Therefore, it is indeed vital for every country’s health sector to improve its plan of action in the eradication of these life-threatening illnesses through a more aggressive approach during the execution of the program. On the other hand, there is no doubt that every medical action taken could have a potential adverse effect making other citizens become hesitant and will go against even with the law. In relation to this, every human body has the ability to differently react to vaccines, which are mostly derived from an attenuated organism, the possibility of its untoward effect is definitely present. For instance, the Philippine Government previously released a vaccine called Dengvaxia and made its way to an enormous number of children who received the medication, but instead of serving its purpose of fighting Dengue, it made an allergic crisis to the children leading to hospitalization. In conclusion, the authority has the supreme power to effectively educate and mandate the citizens with regards to the health improvement of the youth and has several benefits which greatly outweigh the drawback. Furthermore, I stand with the truth that the country's governing body should command its citizens as the lives of these little individuals depend on how their elders cooperate and abide effectively with the action taken by the law.