Many business meetings and discussions are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that online business meetings and discussions are becoming common. Although this trend can be disadvantages to some extent, I believe that the merits are more significant. On the one hand, meetings via the Internet can be negative in the some certain aspects. Firstly, people may suffer from technical problems. For instance, the interruption of the online meeting can result from the low Internet connection. In some cases, when power cut happens, all meeting’s content may be disappeared. Secondly, some online meetings have very little expose to face-to-face conversations, which makes people encounter difficulties to convey and understand real facial expressions. Consequently, it is hard to conduct arguments and this affects the meeting’s outcome negatively. On the other hand, online business meetings are a positive development for various reasons. First of all, people work more effectively. In fact, companies can hold the meeting anywhere without gathering all staff at on particular place. Furthermore, they are able to share documents easily and quickly without printing out. Another advantage of online discussions is time and cost efficiency. To be more specific, people can spend time at home to enjoy the meeting comfortably or do other tasks at the same time instead of traveling to the workplace. Besides, companies will reduce fuel-filling cost for transportation, which leads to less pressure on employee’s budget. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks that online meetings can bring, it still does more good than harm.