The best way to deal with environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel.

Many people hold the view that environmental issues can be best handled by higher costs of fuel. From my perspective, I disagree with the opinion because I believe it is not the best and there are more reasonable alternatives. On the one hand, nowadays every house is having as many private vehicles as number of family members because people find it comfortable, time-saving by travelling in their own. This is one of the causes of traffic and pollution. However, it is so hard to them switch to use other travelling methods if the government issues the policy of increasing the price of fuel. Besides, this causes trigger disagreement and resentment among the public. To be more specific, what happens if staff’s salaries remain unchanged in spite of higher prices of gas. Consequently, this creates a burden on student’s budget or tight budget families so this policy would be counter-productive. On the other hand, I think there are better solutions to tackle environmental problems. One of the solutions could be that the government should invest in public transports such as: buses, trains, subways and encourage residents to use them. It can be done by placing the guiding board along the roads and give a cheap price to support people. As a result, this leads to a reduction in the use of private vehicles and exhaust fumes. Secondly, governments must allocate resources to the development of alternative energy sources. They should spend more money on conducting research and developing technology to use renewable energy, such as wind and solar, biogas. In conclusion, I think increasing the price of fuel is not effective and the government can invest their efforts on other solutions which are absolute essential activities to protect environment.