Many believe that religion is not a good thing, others say it is.

Religion dates back to the beginning of mankind and has become a key part of its existence. Even though it is thought by many to be a positive thing, others think that it has brought negativity. In my perspective, I think religion has given man a sense of purpose and has provided moral guidance for man which is a good thing. On the one hand, religion is as old as man, and has given him a purpose and guidance in life. For one, humans have always asked questions with regards to why they are alive today, and science has not been able to provide answers, however, through religious books like the bible, which claims to have being written by the inspiration of a spiritual God, humans have received answers to their questions. For another, religion has provided guidance for humans to live by daily. For example, the Christian religion preaches faith, goodwill, cheerfulness and love which promotes a society positively. So, from here, it becomes clear that religion is good and has being beneficial to mankind. On the other hand, in the many years that religion have existed, it has brought war and persecution to humanity worldwide. In the first place, division between people on the grounds of religious beliefs have resulted to conflicts. Most of these wars have ended some family lineage and in some cases an entire ethnic group. Furthermore, persecution of other people with different religious beliefs have been exacerbated in most part of the world. Take the middle east, for instance, factions of the religious groups who have more supporters have constantly vilified the other groups and denied them of their rights. Thus, it is clearly depicted that religion could be bad for man. To conclude, although many people believe that religion has brought war and persecution to mankind, I believe that it has done man good and the benefits have impacted man in positive ways.