Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. ?

It is irrefutable that funding of the entertainment industry by the government is as crucial as investment in public services. I agree that these two serves different purposes and are beneficial to the citizens of society and require government funding. Today so many museums and theatres are functional because of government involvement. It is believed that without this support, art which portrays the culture and heritage of the people will go extinct. In Britain for instance, The British Museum has stood the taste of time because the government invest so much in it. Therefore, it is necessary to pass cultural knowledge about a society to the younger generation and with the political investment, art and theatres will certainly be preserved. In addition, services rendered by the music industry, art exhibitions at the theatres are sources of entertainment to the people. To illustrate, in bustling cities like New York, studies show that a large number of people spend their weekends attending music concerts, theatres and car exhibitions. On the whole, these industry help people enjoy their social life. Finally, this entertainment sector generates it own wealth from tourists and create employment for citizens of the nation. To clarify, a tourist looks forward to visit so many appealing sites which are art related. This helps to improve economy of the society and create job opportunities. Public services such as education, health care, electricity, good road network, clean water and other basic services are necessities which also requires government financing. The citizens deserve reformed education, equipped hospitals which are part of the social amenities provided by government. Therefore, funding in these various sectors are equally essential for human survival. In conclusion, every sector in the society is relevant and non is more superior than the other. Funds should be disbursed in each of them by the government to ensure continuity of each one of them.