Many animals are facing extinction in the wild. Why is this happening? What can be done to protect them?

The depreciation of the ecosystem has been a major concern recently. And worthy of notice is the alarming reduction of wild animals. This essay will analyse the causes of this worrisome trend which include rapid urbanisation of rural areas and proliferation of game hunters and proffer possible solutions to abate this problem. Turning to the causes of extinction of wild animals. Firstly, rapid urbanisation of rural area is an important one. For instance, with overcrowding in the cities, people now move en masse to settle down in countrysides. This form of migration as seen in Alaska, where owls were annhilated often leads to encroachment of the ecological niche of these animals and subsequent deforestation in order to get timbers to build houses and furnitures. Consequently, wild animals tend to suffer and eventually die due to failure of acclimatisation of new habitat. In addition, increase in the number of game hunters is another issue. This was established in eastern Australia for example, where game hunters were solely fingered in the extinction of Koala, a tree-dwelling bear. Despite the above challenges, there are possible means to protect these animals. Perhaps the most important is the creation of menagerie. A case in point is the national game reserve in Nairobi, which has greatly contributed to the conservation of animals like giraffes, zebras and ostriches. Also, enforcement of penalties for deforestation. This plan for example has been of benefit in Nigeria, where indiscriminate felling of trees is rampant. And as such, this act was criminalised and culprits are made to pay huge fines or sentence to jail thereby curbing the menace. In conclusion, this essay explained the reasons behind annihilation of quarry which include the increase rate of migration from urban to countrysides and the negative impacts of hunters. And solutions of zoological gardens and outlawing of deforestation.