Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions.

There have been some recent arguments that funding the public library system is wasteful since the information technology can now achieve most of its functionality. I completely disagree with the assertion. I believe computers are not able to replace local libraries' community roles and provide some of the substantial services. For starters, public libraries' community centre role cannot be replaced by computer technology. Firstly, local branches regularly hold off-line events for residents. For example, they provide master-gardener lessons, language exchange sessions, and book-signing events. All those activities require physical space for gathering and cannot be fulfilled by the online system. Secondly, public libraries are a haven for the deprived population. For those who couldn't afford to install air conditioning, in particular, they could go to the library in the summertime and enjoy the cold breeze. Another example would be children who are unable to afford books and computers, and local libraries can be their last resources for information access. Another crucial fact to consider is that the public library system offers services that computers simply can not. To begin with, on-site librarians in local branches can provide free on-site reference consultations. In other words, they assist you with your research topic and make suggestions on limiting or expanding your research scopes. At the same time, libraries usually have partnerships with academic institutes and could connect you with topic-related experts. The second point to consider is that public libraries can help save and store antique books. Ancient manual scripts, for instance, need substantial efforts for professional technicians to preserve and restore. The information network, however, cannot provide the physical room with high temperature and humidity control that those valuable books need to be sheltered in. In conclusion, I do not consent to the argument that technology can swap out all the roles provided by public libraries, and it is wasteful to support them financially. On the contrary, I believe public libraries have a significant role in society and should receive more attention and better funding.