Long distant flights uses more fuel than cars and brings pollution to the environment. We should discourage non-essential flight rather than limit the use of cars.

It is true that environmental pollution is a major topic of concern. Although I accept that limit long-distant flights could help this situation, I do not agree that it is the only measure that the government should take. It is acknowledged that flight restriction may help to reduce both the consumption of the traditional natural resources and the amount of carbon dioxide released into the air. This contributes greatly to improving the air quality and preventing people from some serious health problems such as lung cancer and asthma. However, I believe this solution is completely necessary, and it has more drawbacks than benefits. Normally, limiting the use of long-distant flights may hold tourism industry back from the development, causing a significant rise in unemployment rate. Also, discouraging tourist air travel may restrict the choice of visitors to distant places. For example, without traveling by airplane, it is hard for Vietnamese people to seek other ways to go to Australia. However, I believe that the government should do more than simply limit non-essential flights. It might be more effective if the government utilize new sources of energy to replace or to reduce the over-consumption of fossil fuels. This can be done by using environmentally friendly energy sources from solar, wind, and water power. Another remedy they could use would be to encourage citizens to change their traveling habits towards commuting by public transports such as bus and train. For instance, in many countries, students are allowed to use buses and trains free of charge, which reduces the number of private vehicles on streets, leading to a significant reduction in air pollution. Finally, it is necessary for every individual to have an awareness of environmental preservation. People can reduce pollution by conserving energy by turning off lights, computers, air conditioners, and other appliances when not in use. In conclusion, perhaps limit air travel may solve the problem related to pollution, but this would certainly not be the only way to protect the environment.