Logging of rain forests is a serious problem and it may lead to the extinction of animal life and human life.

Deforestation is a serious issue that may lead to the destruction of both, animal and human lives. I partly agree with this statement, as I believe there are some advantages of logging trees as well. In case of benefits – when trees are cut off, the products are utilised by almost everyone, either directly or indirectly. For example, wood is the major component of paper and is also used worldwide in furniture industries; hence, making it a valuable material. Furthermore, many plants also have pharmaceutical significance; therefore, they help in making medicines which contribute to human health. Additionally, these plants can be transported to desert areas and used as animal feed. On the other side; however, this practice can have adverse effects on the living species, one of which is the loss of habitat. When trees are chopped off at a greater level, many animals lose their home and are forced to migrate to distant areas, where the evnironment may not be favourable to them and they may become extinct. Moreover, the absence of some species disrupts the entire food web of that community resulting in the death of many animals. Another disadvantage is soil erosion which can eventually cause flooding. The roots of the trees run deep into the soil, holding it firmly and also absorb most of the rain water. However, once they are logged down, the roots die and water runs freely on the ground, eroding the soil along its course. This can lead to flooding causing thousands of casualties, as well as barren land. To conclude, in my point of view cutting of trees is necessary, but it should be supervised so excessive trees are not cut off as that can lead to hazardous situations.