Learning English at schools is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, may are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local

New information and communication technology have impacted majority of the world population. While it is believed that most of humans have gained from this advancement in communications, it is also assumed that others did not have the same advantage. I am of the understanding that people in urban local localities have benefited from it while it remains underutilized in rural parts Advancement in communication methods has surely worked in favour of a vast amount of people living in cities and it would not be incorrect to state that it has become an integral part of urban life. Right from paying house bills, shopping at mobile phone to having business video conferences, internet has its presence in each sphere of life. For example, before the advent of mobile phones, it was a frightening experience for long hours before a truck phone could be booked. In addition, it was an expensive deal. However, with the rise of internet and ever dropping tariffs, contacting to anyone in the world is just a click away. Emails and instant messaging applications have made post mail a thing of the past. Therefore, without any doubt, people across the varying categories of students, businessmen, governments and common man are making a use out of new age ways to interact. Having said that, it is also true that inhabitants of rural areas are yet to effectively make the best out of modern communications. While accessibility remains one of the major reasons behind this, low literacy rate in rural areas has contributed as well in a low percentage of people using new communicating methods. For example, people in villages are not unable to use most of the banking applications for their transactions due to illiteracy. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that except for rural areas, the majority of the population is making hay while the sun is shining in the technological area of communications. Technical companies and governments should work together to encourage the rural segment to utilize the benefits to its fullest.