Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Today, English is considered the most superior language in any part of the country. It is the only language, which is taught along with the local language. People give their most of the time in learning the English language. If our priority would be only learning English, there is a chance that we could forget our native language. Our local language is a gift given by our ancestors and the government should increase awareness among the society so that our language does not get disappeared. First, earlier people used to use their native language in a conversation and they lived a really long and happy life. They were mentally strong and physically well developed. Even today some countries like China and Japan do not use English anywhere and they are among the most developed countries in the world. So, Instead of focussing more on a language, we should give our efforts to learn Science, Technology for the development of our country. Second, the government could play a major role to make people realise that we should not be ashamed of learning our local language because every language is just a medium to have a conversation, developed by our ancestors. If someone is comfortable in speaking in a language, he should not give their unnecessary efforts to learn some other language. In Japan their government took this initiative that they will persist with their native language and would concentrate on the development of the country and we can see that Japan is leading in Technology. In conclusion, Although it is not right to completely remove English from our life as it could be useful at somewhere, we should also feel fortunate to our language. Involvement of the government would make this easier that people would accept their mother tongue language.