Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

It is well known that English is an international language which is used as a primary language for education in almost all countries around the world. On top of that, teaching regional languages can help children to be a part of their society and culture in which they are born and brought up. Personally, I believe that while students need to learn English, the survival of regional languages is equally important. To begin with, English is the official language in more than 50 countries most of which are well-developed nations where one might be interested in settling down in the future. English speaking skills will come in handy in situations when you are trying to migrate abroad. In addition, the job opportunities for an individual with better English skills are numerous. The employers are only interested in those candidates who can have a good conversation with their clients and express their opinions fluently. This skill is extremely important in this age of globalization as the clients of the employers are often from different parts of the world. However, local languages have their own unique place in society. These languages help people maintain a separate identity. Language is the foundation of a culture and, in the absence of vernaculars, many cultures will disappear forever. People love songs, stories, books written in their own culture. In fact, many vernacular terms and words cannot be pronounced in the English language. In conclusion, English is an international language which is used as a primary language for education in almost all countries around the world. Moreover, I accept as true with that even as college students need to study English, the survival of local languages is equally important.