Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn english? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so how?

Language is the predominant factor for communication. Nowadays, English has become more important to be taught in academy than any other local languages. Without English, prevailing in the educational and workplace has become a challenge. This essay will discuss why is it so important for everyone to learn English and in the interim, how can we ensure the existence of other local languages. English has become an inevitable language to be known to anyone who wants to earn and prosper in his own domain. This is because, English has been declared as the official administrative dialect all over the world and across almost all sectors. It's also that people started to travel and settle down anywhere across the earth for their survival. In such cases, English is the only common language that is known by everyone which helps them to interact seamlessly. For example, right from the school lectures till the interview process for jobs and in the corporate world, English is the only way to share your thoughts and understand what others wants to convey. Hence it is very important to learn English right from the school days, which can help people to earn their living in this competitive world. Meanwhile, adopting English as the primary form of communication should not demolish the survival of other local languages. People must understand that knowing their mother tongue language is the key identity of honouring and preserving their own culture. A recent study shows that people migrating from remote areas to modern cities for their living, fail to conserve their native language and does not pass them down to their next generation which in turn results in the extinction of that local language. Hence people must understand the importance of preserving their own language in spite of adopting themselves to a different administrative process. Thus, rather than learning any other local language, learning English during school days is very important which can help people tackle the risk of earning their own lives. This essay elaborated on why learning English is a necessity and meanwhile how can we preserve other local languages too. Hence my opinion is to learn English, but not abort the local language usage.