Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Who should be held responsible for raising the children in the community has become a controversial issue. While some individuals believe that parents should take responsibility to prepare their wards to be an active member of the social world, others think that it must be taught at schools. This essay intends to delve into both sides of the argument in depth. I, however, opine that a balanced approach can bring positive results. On the one hand, a vast majority of individuals are in favour of the statement that parents must instills healthy habits in their young ones. This is so because the family is the first school of every child, and it is the place, from where an individual learns how to behave. Moreover, they also gain knowledge about the customs and traditions of the society. For instance, an infant spends most of his time with his mother, therefore she can shape his behaviour according to her own will. Thus, if she behaves in an aggressive manner, it will have impacts on the child as well. On the other hand, it is thought by many that is the onus of the school to teach excellent life skills to the students. It is well known that school goers spend maximum hours with their classmates and teachers, hence they get numerous opportunities of learning social skills. For example, when different extracurricular activities are organised in the premises of the school, they acquire qualities, such as team spirit, competitive habits, and many more. To recapitulate, educational institutions are also serving the purpose of teaching essential qualities to the pupils and making them better individual. To sum up, although our society is divided on the issue of development of children, some consider it as a duty of parents, whereas an enormous number of people opine school should develop citizens of the nation. But, I firmly believe that growth of the children is linked with parents as well as school.