Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

It is argued that in the current age it is not beneficial to research about history. This essay completely disagrees with this statement and will discuss, why gaining knowledge about the history is valuable rather then invaluable, followed by a reasoned conclusion. It is a popular belief that past reflects the future. If decisions are made without researching the relevant former details and information, it may result in costly mistakes. For instance, Financial advisors predict the future profitability of a company by taking account of the historical data and facts as it helps them forecast the actual outcome. However, relying solely on historical facts and figures may produce incorrect results and may be misleading. Secondly, if enough time and resources are not invested in learning about the past, the current generation would not be able to benefit from the knowledge and wisdom of earlier generations. For example, A lot of research was done in the field of astronomy in the last five hundred years, It would be a very big mistake if current research does not benefit from the findings of that period. This is the reason that history is still taught as a subject in universities and schools. Although, some of the historical knowledge and wisdom may be termed as obsolete in today’s world. To conclude, I would say that it is not in the best interest of the current generation to ignore the lessons taught by history and our generation should learn about the lives and achievements of the earlier generations.