Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

Hydrocarbon fuels such as coal and gas are the primary power source across the globe, but people are now being persuaded to utilise renewable energy sources as the alternative. I believe that this beneficial development, as they will help us in curbing climate change and because they are cost-effective replacements. Replacing traditional electricity generation with solar, wind, tidal or geothermal is a positive development because they reduce climate change. This is to say that these renewable resources do not have any carbon emissions, and by implementing them, we can control the carbon footprint in our environment and the damages done by petroleum, in turn bringing a good change across the world. For example, a research conducted by Germany’s Ministry of Natural Resources stated that, by replacing the coal-based power plants with electricity-generating wind stations, they observed that the carbon-di-oxide in the atmosphere was reduced by 50%, which is substantially positive for the climate. Renewable sources bring a productive change because they are free in comparison with fossil fuels, which are expensive and the cost of implementing a power production system using them is economical. Unlike coal and gas, whose prices are usually controlled by the international market, the energy from solar and wind can be harnessed without any cost, because they are naturally available throughout the world. Furthermore, their recurring maintenance cost is also minimum, and that takes a huge burden off the economy. For instance, the annual operating cost of a 2000 MW coal power station is 150 million pounds, on the other hand, the yearly charges of a solar park of equal capacity are as low as 30 million pounds. In conclusion, I believe that solar and winds are a suitable alternative to oil, coal, and gas and using them is a welcomed change as they mitigate climate issues and primarily because they are economically viable.