Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this?

It is true that the numbers of large malls have increased rapidly in the past few years, and many people believe that they are replacing the traditional shops. I personally feel that there should be some clear regulations about the design of malls in each city; therefore the existence of these shopping malls will not replace the small shops. It is a fact that many large shopping malls are built in big cities these days, such as in Singapore, Jakarta or Tokyo. These giant malls offer various kinds of shops in one place; therefore people should not have to go to different places when they are looking for their needs. Then, these shopping malls are also equipped with air conditioner, so visitors will feel comfortable when they walk around the malls. And lastly, these shopping malls also being managed and monitored by security guards, therefore many people feel safe walking around in these malls. However, despite all the benefits of these large shopping centres, the existence of these shopping malls has some negative effects on small shops. Many property developers are building their malls near a traditional market, which affected the sales of many small and traditional shops. As more people choose to go to large shopping malls, the numbers of people who purchase at small shops become lesser and lesser each day. As a consequence, many of these shops owners have to close their business or have to reduce the number of employees. In conclusion, the number of mega malls is increasing these days, and some people believe that they will replace traditional markets. I personally believe that the existence of shopping malls will boost the economic growth of the city, but small shops also create many jobs opportunities as well. So it is the government task to make some strict regulations about the city’s layout, therefore the existence of large shopping malls and small shops will be appropriate.