Junk/Street Food is the most affordable meal for the working class. But health problems due to rampant and uncontrolled consumption are being compounded. It has therefore become imperative for governments to impose a higher tax on them. Give your opinion.

While the severity and number of health problems caused by the excessive consumption of unhealthy feed have amplified, I disagree that levying higher tax alone on these affordable foods would push people towards healthier eating. In my essay, I would discuss the impact of such initiative by the government on the consumers and alternate measures that could be more effective. Firstly, imposing an increased tax rate on convenience foods would make them too expensive to poor people, forcing them to cook meals at home. While this might increase their nutritional intake, it would augment their miseries economically, since, the fresh, nutritious meal is not easily available or pocket friendly. Secondly, the fast-paced modern world has compelled individuals to seek comfort in packaged foods. Increase in the cost of such detrimental alternates, would not inspire them to change their lifestyle, rather it would make all types of foodstuff become high-priced, affordable only by the rich. For instance, when the price of onions hiked in India, poor economized on their intake, but rich continued without any notable change in their consumption. On the other hand, it would be more effective if the government warrants healthier alternatives to be more economical and accessible. Therefore, tax free nutritional substances and their mass production to meet the demand might be a massive step towards achieving better health in the community. Similarly, establishments should ensure that canteens in schools, colleges and offices provide cost-effective nutritive diet, so that, relying on their alternatives is minimized. For instance, Akshaya Patra midday meals at schools has ensured children’s nourishment while safeguarding them from the hazards of cheap processed snack. To conclude, heavy taxes on junk foods will only deter the low-income groups from buying them. Instead, governments should invest more in wholesome school lunches and making healthy products widely available at nominal cost to attack the problem at its root source.