It’s generally believed that success in fields such as art and sport can only be achieved if a person has natural talent. However, it’s sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or artist.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether artists and sportspeople can only be successful if they are born with natural talent or whether talent can be nurtured. This essay examines this question from both points of view and then states my perspective, being that a combination of both is the key to success. There are people who argue that success can only be achieved by people with natural talent. The main reason for believing this is that success requires having better genes than others. One good illustration of this is Michael Phelps who won Olympic medals in swimming due to having a wider arm span than the average person. We can also see evidence of natural talent in child prodigies who are geniuses whose natural talent shows at a young age. For instance, Mozart was already a gifted pianist giving public performances when he was just five years old. However, it can also be argued that anyone can achieve success with the right coaching. A good example of success due to long hours of coaching is Tiger Woods. He claims that he only become the number one golfer in the world due to his exhausting training schedule. Moreover, there are those who opine that repetitive training can make it seem like a person was born with innate talent. Take leading martial artists, they spend endless hours undertaking guided training which conditions their reflexes through a process called conditioned learning. This principle can be applied in other areas making it seem that the person is gifted yet underpinning their performance is hours of instruction. In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that true success only occurs when both conditions are present. Consequently, true brilliance requires a good set of genes as well as the right nurturing of that natural talent and hard work and dedication to one’s field.