It's generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it's sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Talent is skill or aptitude in a particular domain, what makes you successful in it is your intreset towards it. We are born with a mind full of potential and as we age, we start to develop interests. No one becomes a good musician or sports person if he/she dislikes it, so I would say we aren't born with certain talents, but we develop an inclination towards some, as we start learning it we get good at it. Many successful athletes and musicians, have been playing since their early ages, which amounts to most of their life, this was only possible because of passion. Besides, there are many athletes, who have tried for many years just under peer or family pressure, but never reach the zenith, as it might just not be the right fit. For instance, many engineers, branch out to completely different fields, but still are very good at it. Although following your passion seems to be a wise decision in hindsight, but in early ages, it can be difficult to find, leading to wrong decisions and disappointment. Numerous cases have been observed where people without any prior knowledge or inclination have been successful at a particular skill, just by training. A child's brain can adapt to changes very well, if we blend it with the right amount inspiration and efforts towards something, they might grow up to be really good at it. For instance, a recent study delineated that children in their early ages, can learn multiple languages 10 times faster that any adult and same was also applicable to other skills. But channeling a child's liking towards a particular domain can be an ardent task in many cases, leading higher disappointment. In conclusion, I would like to say, supporting a child towards the interest he/she develops weighs higher than channeling his/her interest towards a particular field, after all, the goal is to be talented and field should not matter.