It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extent due to theavailability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reducethe amount of fast food consumed?

With constant modifications in school curriculum and constant changes in society the question of whether to maintain or drop geography is an interesting topic. I believe there would be severe consequences if geography were to disappear, mainly due to the understanding and open-mindedness that is derived from such studies. Firstly, with evermore complex geopolitical strategies being played out, it can be considered extremely valuable to have the ability to identify the location of these events without checking on a map. Religious and border conflicts are amongst the most common sources of news events, and a lack of knowledge as to where these events are being played out can be considered ignorant. For example, areas such as the Middle East are constantly in the news. Therefore, by being merely aware of their location in the world, readers or viewers can greatly increase their understanding of the conflict. Secondly, making geography compulsory in the schools would most likely encourage students to travel later in life. This is because geography can bring to light options you may not have known existed previously. For example, historically England has been the top destination to learn English. However, in recent times students have learned about more economical options such as Malta or Ireland. Therefore, without a sound geographical knowledge of Europe, these options could have been overlooked. To conclude, removing geography from the school curricula would reduce a student’s ability to fully assimilate global events in the media. Furthermore, removing the subject could indirectly reduce the amount of perceived options available to students.