It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead.

It is often said that old-fashioned constructions are required more costly budgets to rebuild and upgrade all of them, thus modern structures are considered as a cost-efficiency way accepted by the crowds. To some extent, I totally disagree with this view for some reasons, and the essay will examine these below. Old buildings, have gone through changes in human history, are an existing representative of cultural values in national characteristics. Maybe the best example of this will be Ben Thanh market in Vietnam that was appeared in the early 1914s, and it is a particular symbol of Ho Chi Minh city so far. The market is inspired by French architectural designs and be compounded with some Asian structures so that foreign visitors nowadays can be easily attracted and be implied about heroic reminiscences of Vietnamese history. Besides that, it is obvious that the market itself is a large achievement in terms of preserving an exclusive style of Vietnamese traditional markets and orientating a new direction for Asian nations’ integration in culture. I believe that unfashionable buildings have their own valuable meanings that should be protected from the verge of collapse by human interference. The restoration of previous constructions will help the government to ease national burdens from building latest structures with technological advances. In fact, it will be an ineffective cost-saving way in breaking any old-designed buildings down and then converting them into up-to-date ones. Furthermore, the sudden collapse of these past constructions may lead to a mass of environmental pollutions and also, an aesthetic nature in public will be seriously affected as well. As a result, the government must face with an environmental crisis so that they are forced to reintroduce new compensation policies with more taxations applied directly to citizens. This can rise a widespread discontent in the whole societies, and many problems caused by the idea of constructing contemporary structures towards national budgets will never be ended. In conclusion, I would argue that the past buildings have still created their values in terms of culture and finance, thus these constructions should be preserved as well as be developed by all of generations in the future.