It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do the disadvantages of this development for society outweigh the advantages?

It is true that many people have considered car, television and refridgerator as dispensable items in their house. While bringing numerous benefits for each individual and society, I would argue that this trend also produce many obvious drawbacks, which overshadow the immediate benefits. On the one hand, there are various advantages stem from this trend for both consumers, enterprises and society as a whole. Admittedly, the increasing consumption of these items could maximise profit for the car and electrical companies such as Ford, LG, and Panasonic. As a consequence, the higher profit they generate, the more tax revenue they pay to national government, which result in increased investment for key areas including education and health care. Besides, this trend also benefits consumers in terms of entertainment and other personal advantages. Thanks to television, people, especially those always caught up in their work and study, could relieve stress and reduce fatigue after the long hard-working day. Driving a car to workplace also enables users to save a great deal of time and feel sense of safety, which rarely attain when they use motorbike or public transportation system. Refridgerator also confers enormous benefits to users and is considered as one of the most useful kitchen appliances, being used to keep cool and store food and beverage at freezing temperature, especially those perishable items such as fruit, fish, and so forth, which hardly store freshly for a week or more in normal temperature. On the other hand, the overconsumption of these items could bring many seriously potential drawbacks for environment and user’s health, which could outweigh these above-mentioned benefits. There is no point in denying that car consumption could generate a large amount of harmful exhaust emissions such as CO2 and NO2, which not only damge the quality of air, but also impair user’s well-being including some respiratory illnesses such as asthma, and nasal congestion. Fridge usage also harm environment because of CFC content, the main culprit for ozone’s hole. Besides the negative impact on environment, food stored in fridge are not as fresh and healthy as those from market due to the gradual loss of esential nutrients. Consequently, users could suffer from many diseases result from the deficiency in vital vitamins and minerals such as Berri-Berri syndrome. Because of the overuse of car, television and fridge, human beings have alse been leading the sedentary life, which is the headache of state governments due to the heavy burden stemming from the increasing rate of patients who contract non-communicable diseases such as diabete, obisity, and cancer. In conclusion, although the increasing demand for car, television and fridge could produces both drawbacks and benefits, the negative impacts of this trend seem to outweith the positive ones.