The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime.

It is considered that the crime rate these days is getting decreases compared to the past, owing to the advance technology, through which crime can be prevented and resolved. I agree with this statement and this essay will discuss reasons for it. Crime rate nowadays is comparatively lower than in the past, due to the technology inventions such as CCTV cameras. In almost all sensitive areas and crowdy places such as hospitals, universities, and shopping malls in big cities, there are surveillance cameras installed, which gives the recordings of the area and each moment activity can be monitored. This, in turn, means criminals would not opt for any offensive move, owing to the installed cameras, and if they do any criminal act, it can be easily traced. This means the suspect can be find out through the recording saved in the cameras. However, this was not the case in the past, as there were no surveillance system at that time. A recent report by the International Counter Terrorism Department, for instance, showed that 7000 criminal acts were stopped to operate and 5000 criminal offence cases were identified through the help of CCT cameras. Furthermore, many crimes in, which mobile phones were used, are enormously controlled and resolved through digital technology, which was not possible in the past. If a person commit a crime and in such circumstances he or she used a mobile, his or her location can be easily traced through advance digital applications, which are used to access the location of a person. In other words, there are specific software, which are used as a trackers. A report by Michigan University, for example, showed that 12000 cases of criminal acts, commit through mobiles, were tracked alone in Washington DC. This was not possible before technological revolution, as there were no tracking applications in that time. In conclusion, crime rates is lowering these days than the past, owing to the presence of technology, which has limited and stopped crimes. I agree with this view, since through CCT cameras, many crimes can be prevented and resolved, as well as through advance tracking applications, crimes can be tracked