It is suggested that all young adults should undertake period of unpaid work, helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the young people? Some people say that E books and technology will totally replace traditional newspapers and magazines.

The youth of today is generally considered to lack social knowledge and experience, which are of crucial importance in the future development. To solve this problem some people suggest that they should undertake a period of voluntary industry in the local community helping people around them. Personally, I believe that making young people do voluntary industry will be very beneficial for the youth as well as for the community and the negative effects of such an approach would be negligible. Undoubtedly, it will benefit both the young people enormously if they do a certain period of unpaid work. By helping the elderly, the sick and the disabled directly, or participating in charitable activities like raising funds or offering free consultation, young people will certainly gain and accumulate some valuable first hand experience and know more about the company. Moreover, young people with such experiences are more likely to become the most motivated ones in academic study or at the task, and eventually become responsible citizens of the society. As far as the community is concerned, it will definitely become better with so many zealous young volunteers who are ready to help. However, there may be some disadvantages if young provide free service helping people in need. For example, it may conflict with their normal study or industry if not arranged well. Then the result maybe not as desirable as what is expected. But I think this sort of problem can be easily taken care of by meticulous planning by the school authorities. To conclude, competitiveness of modern life and influence of global culture has isolated children from the neighbourhood. So making them do some voluntary production would be very beneficial to make today's children feel part of the company they live in.