It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

It is argued that teenagers should perform a duration of volunteer work assisting people in the community. This essay will argue that the principal advantages of such initiative outweighs the drawbacks. This essay will firstly describe that the main advantage is that teenagers will have a higher probability of gaining employment, followed by financial instability as the primary disadvantage which is not valid and a reasoned conclusion. Foremost, one of the main advantages of teenagers immersing themselves in a community performing volunteer work is that they will have better prospects and highly likely to gain an employment especially fresh graduates. This is because they will learn a host of skills such as empathy, teamwork and communication which are essential and fundamental in any job positions. For instance, a survey in the past conducted by Cambridge University showed that at least 60% of young graduate adults that had previous volunteer experience managed to secure an employment in United Kingdom compared to those that did not involved themselves. Moreover, the community also will benefit from this initiative in gaining extra helping hands especially during any mother nature disaster such as the recent bushfires that impacted the entire Australian community. However, some will disagree that teenagers performing volunteer work will lead them to be financially incapable. This argument is not valid as many teenagers can find other part time jobs to finance themselves with their costs of living while doing volunteer work. Moreover, the purpose of doing an unpaid work for the community is to gain valuable experience which in turn can be helpful in their future career prospects. In conclusion, clearly the main advantages of helping the community with unpaid work trumps the point that teenagers will struggle financially. As long as there is a balance between working part time for income and committed to volunteer work, the drawback can be eliminated. Hence, teenagers are strongly encouraged to join volunteer work programs in the community.