It is suggested that all young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work to help people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

The Volunteerism is the practice of giving back to a society by doing work with no financial interests in return. In my view, this kind of activity should be encouraged among all the age groups of the people due to its beneficial effects on both the youth and the community. On a brighter side, teenagers getting involved themselves in the different kinds of volunteer tasks will help them to develop interpersonal and soft skills. To illustrate, they will learn the strength of teamwork by raising funds and organizing events, develop communication skills by interacting with people from different socioeconomic backgrounds, and will help them to develop some vocational skills which they can put on their curriculum vitae and further enhance their chances of being selected at a good university or company. Secondly, these unpaid jobs can support them to build the contacts and widen their social circle which can assist them in their future endeavours. Thirdly, helping the weaker portion of society can give a sense of satisfaction and fulfilment to a person. In fact, this will help the entire community to prosper and strengthen the bond of unity which is precisely required in this growing world of materialism and globalization. Contrarily, time spent in the volunteer jobs can be utilized by young people in developing their educational skills and preparing for their future prospects. Sometimes, these unpaid works can act as distractions and divert the teenagers from their career development efforts. To conclude, I opine that even a few hours of unpaid work done every week by the each young member of the community is much more worthwhile than doing nothing for the welfare of the society.