In majority of universities learners focus on specific subjects, however some consider that universities must motivate learners to learn a great range of subjects.

It is argued that universities should motivate students to learn a broader range of subjects rather than focusing on specific subjects. This essay disagrees with this viewpoint. Firstly, this essay will discuss students concentrating on particular subjects to attain their major objective and secondly, learning irrelevant topics could distract learners focus from their specialization. Students pertaining tertiary education should acquire relevant knowledge and skill required by the chosen field. This will keep the learners focused and concentrated on designated topics and they can devote more time and effort to succeed in their academic journey. For instance, a student doing IT degree will benefit more from learning about cloud computing rather than learning about history. As a result, these learners will be equipped with outstanding skills and will add more skilful workers in the job market. On the other hand, mandating subject irrelevant to specialization will make it more difficult for learners to achieve better grades in these topics. Moreover, learners will pay less attention to the main subjects as they must study new subjects out of their major and will ultimately have an adverse effect on their overall result. However, there are many learning institutes that provide courses, specialized in subjects that learners can enrol after graduation. For instance, companies like HubSpot provides mini diplomas in the fields of sales and marketing that anyone can register. In conclusion, students seeking higher education should learn subjects pertaining to their major that will have a better outcome rather than studying subjects that could be an academic burden.