It is sometimes said that borrowing money from a friend can harm or damage the friendship. Do you agree? Why or why not? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Corporal punishments have always been a popular means of raising disciplined children. Some parents believe that smacking children is the optimum form of discipline. This essay will argue that these punishments are not completely necessary to instill discipline in children. Parents have always been stern when it comes to disciplining their children. They believe that, they will have an upper hand with them when they behave authoritatively. This is especially common in the Asian countries wherein children are subjected to physical abuse and inappropriate words, not only in their homes but also in their schools. They are penalised for every single mistake of theirs. Recent studies show that nearly 60 percent of parents in India resort to corporal punishments mainly because of the repetitive bad behaviour of their children and these methods have proven to be effective in the past. There has been a widespread notion that smacking children will mould them into well behaved adults. The fact that parents rely on corporal punishments to raise their children in itself is quite preposterous. I believe that inflicting pain is not the right way to raise children. Instead, parents could try to get to know them on a personal level and maintain a friendly relationship with them. They could also give an account of their personal experiences and point out where their son or daughter has gone wrong. Children are quick learners and are observant. Smacking them or their siblings will not set the right example. Studies have shown that strict parents give birth to the most notorious liars. Although, these methods are not common and require immense effort from the parent's side, they are the best ways to ensure that children learn to differentiate between good and bad. To recapitulate, this essay has argued that smacking children is not the best form of inculcating discipline. From where I stand, punishments are absolutely unnecessary in raising well mannered children.