It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this problem?

It is apparent that juvenile delinquency has evolved to be a pressing concern especially in metropolitan areas, in recent decades. Although there exists a commonly held notion that juvenile crime stems from violence in the media, some other causes should be taken into consideration as well. There is a multitude of reasons spurring the growth of juvenile crime. Firstly, due to the development of the internet, Citizens especially teenagers have easier access to pronographic and aggressive materials. This means that adolescent will imitate exactly what are depicted on these images and videos, which in the long run acts as an contributor to mental health impairment leading to crime commission. Secondly, Poverty is the main factor that accelerates individuals’ crime commission at their early stage of life. In order to satisfy the living demand, some children especially those in the poverty-stricken regionss has become a pickpocket or a pilfer for their life maintanance, which probably can breed the future offenders for even more serious crime. Nevertheless, There are also a variety of solutions to alleviate this issue. First, there is an urgent demand for higher degree of parents supervision to the young people’s usage of the Internet. Due to a stricter restriction of internet usage, teenagers would be less sensitive to X-rated and other violent materials and subsequently have a heathier lifestyle. Second, The Government should create more jobs especially labor job to ensure a better standard of living for the young destitute citizens. For example, many unemployed adolescents in Vietnam now can make an honest living thanks to being offered labor jobs in governmental company and no longer have to steal money for survival. In conclusion, negative materials from media definitely not the sole factor leading to young people committing crime. Identifying the reasons behind this issue is the key to finding practical solutions.