It is often said that governments spend too much money on wild life protection, while others say that there are other problems that are more important?

Many of the animal species across the world are being driven to extinction by the deforestation, hunting and the climatic changes and as a result government across the globe are allocating more and more funds to preserve and protect animal populations. It is being argued by some people that such spending is unjustified and it could be effectively spent elsewhere, while others think that it is very important for government to spend money on wildlife protection. I am of the opinion that money being spent on wildlife is very important and it has long term benefits. Many of the species across the world were lost to human activities due to lack of knowledge and lack of government efforts in the past. Now more funding and research in these fields has prepared us to acknowledge the threats being posed to many different wild animals across the world and to take necessary actions for their protection. For instance, Tasmanian tiger once roamed the wilderness of the Australia nearly 4-5 centuries ago, but due to massive hunting and lack of knowledge of its habitat, it was driven to extinction, with the last known sighting in the mid 19th century. Better funded, wildlife departments can create harmony among the local population and the animals. Awareness programs can be organised to educate the communities about the importance of the wildlife and their protection. For example, WWE organised educational programs in the Pakistan about the snow leopard's precarious state, which was being massively hunted and was declared endangered, but with the efforts of the government and international NGO's its population has now started reviving. Poorly funded wildlife departments can potentially fail to cope with the complex issues being faced by many animals across the world. The world around us is continuously changing because of the massive changes in the temperature and CO2 levels. Many animal species which were accustomed to certain living conditions can potentially go extinct in very short time and this would result in the massive environmental loss and can shift the balance of the fragile ecosystems. Study of the wildlife and their protection can also prepare us to better equip ourselves in the case of climate changes. In conclusion, it is very important to have better funded wildlife departments because of the massive climate changes and already fragile and declining populations of the many animal species across the world.