It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important?

Off lately, a lot of debate has gone into the monetary expenses of the government for wildlife protection instead of other important problems such as encouraging education among students of lower economic strata. Although it is important to protect vulnerable species, I believe dedicating financial resources to educating kids from poor economic areas would be beneficial. With the government investing in projects aiming for preservation of the biodiversity, it ensures the safety of the species from harm. The formulation of stringent policies prohibiting heinous acts such as poaching and hunting has led to a decrease in animal killings. Implementing better means to deal with water pollution like preventing the disposal of plastics has led to fewer people polluting them with plastics. Even though a lot of finances have been dedicated to protecting wildlife, no significant results have been observed in the ecosystem. Most of the organisms that were vulnerable, either continue to be vulnerable or have become extinct. With a sharp increase in juvenile crime rates, it is imperative to direct financial aid in motivating and helping more students gain access to schools. Most adolescents drop out of school either due to lack of funds or lack of motivation. Directing resources to these young and sharp minds in the form of scholarships or in-school activities would encourage them to perform better and raise their standard of living. For example, a survey conducted by the USA government revealed that teenagers from low-lying areas with access to government scholarships performed much better than regular students. Therefore, investing in the young minds of a nation would help in creating a better and safe community. To conclude, even though a fair amount of money has been invested in protecting wildlife but it hasn’t revealed significant improvements. However, investing in educating young adults from economically weaker backgrounds would reap benefits to society.